Infernals Webskin

SUPERSTAR WRITER/ARTIST DANIEL WARREN JOHNSON FOLLOWS UP BREAKOUT SUCCESS OF TRANSFORMERS, DO A POWERBOMB WITH REMASTERED SCI-FI EPIC SPACE-MULLET IN JULY 2024

The perfect sci-fi romp for fans of Firefly and Cowboy Bebop

PORTLAND, Ore. 12/19/2023 — Hot off the 2023 Eisner Award winning Do a Powerbomb and skyrocketing to fame with his fresh spin on the Transformers comic book series, Daniel Warren Johnson has another balls-to-the-wall adventure for fans in a new print collected edition of his long-running webcomic, Space-Mullet. This epic, intergalactic tale will be re-introduced to fans, feature remastered lettering, and include an all-new, never-before-printed chapter. It will hit shelves in July 2024 from Image Comics.

Johnson’s growing oeuvre has positioned him as the “It” writer of the moment in comics. The critically-acclaimedDo a Powerbomb snagged him an Eisner Award in the Best Teen Publication category—edging out the likes of such YA juggernauts as Alice Oseman’s Heartstopper, Vol. 4—and cast him as an industry high-flyer. In the follow-up to bestselling Robert Kirkman and Lorenzo de Felici’s Void Rivals barnburner, Johnson’s Transformers #1 issue premier laid waste to recent DC and Marvel launches with a chart-topping 150K copy instant sell-out that left a bevy of reprints in its wake.

Now Johnson’s Space-Mullet will provide fans with a peek at the comic that allowed him to cut his teeth on sequential storytelling and helped start it all.

"When I started Space-Mullet, I had just quit my steady teaching job, had no money, and DEFINITELY no work in the comics industry," said Johnson. "This book was me throwing everything I had at trying to prove to the comics world I could make something special. The pages are humble, but are a huge foundation for what made me the artist I am now. See proto-DWJ come to life in these pages!!!"

Perfect for fans of Firefly and Cowboy Bebop, Space-Mullet is a sci-fi romp about a ragtag crew of misfits doing everything they can to get by in space.

Space-Mullet is an episodic style comic about a washed up, Ex-Space Marine trucker named Jonah, and his alien co-pilot, Alphius. Together they do their best (and usually fail) to do good throughout the galaxy.

Space-Mullet trade paperback (ISBN: 9781534327252) will be available at local comic book shops on Wednesday, July 10 and independent bookstores, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-Million, and Indigo on Tuesday, July 9.

Space-Mullet will also be available across many digital platforms, including Amazon Kindle, Apple Books, and Google Play and in its original webcomic format at https://www.space-mullet.com.