Infernals Webskin

MS. MARVEL WRITER SABIR PIRZADA TEAMS WITH ICE CREAM MAN ARTIST MARTÍN MORAZZO & OTHERS FOR UPCOMING DANDELION ANTHOLOGY IN JUNE

Nomadland meets Mad Max in these high-stakes, cli-fi themed, original stories

PORTLAND, Ore. 02/05/2024 — Hit Marvel Studios’ writer of Moon Knight and Ms. Marvel TV series and Ms. Marvel: The New Mutant, Sabir Pirzada, makes his creator-owned comics debut with the upcoming graphic anthology, Dandelion. It will feature a bevy of cutting-edge artists, eye-popping cover art by Tula Lotay (Barnstormers, Supreme: Blue Rose, Somna), and hit shelves in June from Image Comics.

Dandelion's exciting assembly of science fiction stories by Pirzada will showcase a murderer’s row of talented artists, including: Martín Morazzo (Ice Cream Man), Vanesa R. Del Rey (Scarlet Witch, Redlands), Eric Koda (Ms. Marvel, Shang-Chi), Roy Allan Martinez (Zorro Swords of Hell), Gegê Schall (Made in Korea), Thomas Campi (Joe Shuster: The Artist Behind Superman), and up-and-coming artists Adrian Rivero, Juha Veltti, and Marquis Rogers.

In Dandelion, when climate change and automation disrupt the lives of millions, a new civilization is formed in the skies—one that threatens the wealthy citizens who’ve been hoarding Earth’s meager resources for themselves.

"It's been a grand undertaking to gather some of the industry's hottest artists, and build a shared continuity where they could take inspiration from one another in illustrating a wide range of genres that all add up to a larger world of speculative fiction with a mystery unfolding in the background: who is the founder of the Dandelion ship? We are excited to present a unique reading experience as can only exist in an anthology graphic novel format," said Pirzada.

Perfect for fans of Rick Remender and Greg Tochinni’s Low or Remender and Sean Gordon Murphy’s Tokyo Ghost, this lot of climate crisis-infused tales will be brought to life with lush coloring by Juha Veltti, Jacob Phillips (Pulp, Reckless, Newburn), and Lee Loughridge (Deadly Class, The Good Asian, Killadelphia) and sharp lettering skills from Aditya Bidikar (Little Bird, Isola) and Taylor Esposito (Atomahawk).

Dandelion trade paperback (ISBN: 9781534397545) will be available at local comic book shops on Wednesday, June 12 and independent bookstores, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-Million, and Indigo on Tuesday, June 11.

Dandelion will also be available across many digital platforms, including Amazon Kindle, Apple Books, and Google Play.

Early praise for Dandelion:

Dandelion is a big, insightful and wildly entertaining graphic novel. A prescient and poignant critique of where we may be headed, and the hope that remains in our most precious resource—humanity.” —Oscar Isaac, Moon Knight

Dandelion offers a revitalizing reflection of an imminent and profoundly tangible future world that demands its readers' attention. Elevated with art that good, it's impossible to look away. An utterly delectable read!” —Iman Vellani, Ms. Marvel: Mutant Menace

“Further proving Sabir Pirzada to be one of the most interesting new voices in comics, Dandelion is addictive to its very last page. It's the kind of humanist sci-fi the genre was built on—an undeniably relevant speculative fiction of a have/have-not society that examines a new technology's effect on its populace with almost compulsive comprehensiveness.” —Pornsak Pichetshote, The Good Asian, Infidel

“Weird, wild, and packed to the gills with incredible talent. Some real ‘up in the air’ thinking from Sabir and his cohorts here.” —W. Maxwell Prince, Ice Cream Man

Dandelion is a tremendously big sci-fi swing that confronts issues we're only beginning to face. A vital comic—highest possible recommendation.” —Gerry Duggan, X-Men

“Making comic book anthologies is tough. Making an anthology this consistent in quality is even tougher. Hat's off to Sabir and the plethora of incredible artists for putting something like this together. Dandelion's concept pulled me in immediately with its familiar but unique take on a dystopic, cyberpunk future. Once I started reading, I couldn't put it down. Each story was more engaging than the last. I gobbled it up in a single sitting. From action to romance to political thriller, this book jumps sub-genres with ease. I'm really hoping to dive back into this world soon.” —Michael Walsh, The Silver Coin

Gallery