Ascenderbg 03

ODDLY NORMAL Conjures Up Adventure in March

January 23, 2015

Children’s graphic novel by Otis Frampton explores themes of bullying and imagination

"A charming and relatable fish-out-of-water tale." -Hope Larson, writer/artist, A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel, Mercury, Chiggers

The otherworldly ODDLY NORMAL by Otis Frampton tells the story of a girl who doesn’t feel like she fits in, no matter where she goes. The young heroine of the March graphic novel from Image Comics endures the bullying of other kids for her green hair and pointed ears. Oddly got those traits from her mother, who is a witch, but didn’t get the ability to use magic along with them. Or so she thought.

A fateful wish on her 10th birthday leads to her parents disappearing, and Oddly must travel with her eccentric Auntie to Fignation, the weird world of supernatural beings, to find out how to get them back — if she can get them back. There, as the first “Earther” that her new classmates have ever seen, Oddly feels as much of an outsider as ever.

“Oddly’s parents may have had a fairy tale romance, but kids (especially kids whose parents are from different cultures) often have to blaze their own trail,” Frampton said in an interview at the Los Angeles Times’ Hero Complex. “The Oddly we meet at the start of the story is a sullen, reclusive kid. She’s become somewhat numb to insults and really doesn’t do much to make friends.”

How will Oddly navigate the perils of a magical middle school and find her parents? And will she ever find a place where she’s accepted? One thing is sure, though — Oddly is going to have to learn to stand up for who she is if she’s ever going to have any hope of being happy, wherever she ends up.

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier’s graphic novels and A Wrinkle in Time, ODDLY NORMAL, BOOK 1 will be in comic book stores on March 11 and in bookstores on March 24. It is specially priced at $9.99 and available for pre-order now.

ODDLY NORMAL, BOOK 1 by Otis Frampton

  • ISBN 978-1-63215-226-8
  • Diamond Comic order code JAN150646
  • 128 pages, paperback, full color
  • $9.99
  • Collects ODDLY NORMAL #1-5
  • Rated Everyone
  • In comic book stores March 11, bookstores March 24
  • Retailers, librarians, and reviewers may request a PDF galley from Jennifer de Guzman, Director of Trade Book Sales, jenniferdeguzman@imagecomics.com

Praise for ODDLY NORMAL:

“Anchored by a dynamic and engaging protagonist, and exploring an unpredictable world this title promises to bring readers on a journey worth taking. As Oddly Normal comes of age in a fantasy world she will remind the audience of the joy of believing in magic.” –Vince Ostrowski, Multiversity Comics

“Frampton shows us a world built on imagination and comedy that is sure to delight anyone who reads it. A coming of age story with a twist.” –David Melton, Coming Up Comics

“Frampton's art presents an imagination-inspiring and whimsical world that's just plain fun to watch and examine….” –Jim Johnson, Comic Book Resources