December 31, 1969

All-star creators contribute to non-profit anthology

This year’s CBLDF LIBERTY ANNUAL anthology, benefiting the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund and published by Image Comics, declares “It’s good to be free!” Edited by Image Publisher Eric Stephenson, the 48-page anthology to be released on October 31 features short stories by some of comics’ hottest creators.

Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard contribute an all-new story about THE WALKING DEAD arch-villain The Governor, who will be making his debut in the television series this season. The anthology also features incredible stories by Howard Chaykin, Kieron Gillen, Jim McCann, Terry Moore, Chris Roberson, James Robinson, and more! Eye-popping art by stars like Michael Allred, Chynna Clugston-Flores, Janet Lee, and Ben Templesmith completes this celebration of comics and free speech. In addition, previews of two upcoming Image comics-STORM DOGS by David Hine and Doug Braithwaite and THE SAVIORS by James Robinson and J. Bone-will be included.

The anthology features an “A” cover by Gabriel Bá (Casanova, The Umbrella Academy) (AUG120468), a “B” cover by Terry Dodson and Rachel Dodson (Harley Quinn, Trouble, Defenders) (AUG120469), and a “C” cover by Chris Giarrusso (Mini Marvels, G-MAN) (AUG128005).

All proceeds from the CBLDF LIBERTY ANNUAL 2012 will benefit the important First Amendment legal work of the CBLDF, a non-profit group dedicated to protecting the free speech of the comics community of retailers, creators, publishers, librarians, and readers. It is available for pre-order now.

Here is the complete list of creative teams (Writer and Artist; one name indicates creator both writes and draws the story):

Howard Chaykin and Sina Grace
Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard
Chris Roberson and Roger Langridge
Jonathan Hickman
Terry Moore
Richard Starkings and Ian Churchill
David Hine and Doug Braithwaite
Joe Keatinge and Chynna Clugston-Flores
Kieron Gillen and Nate Belllegarde
Brandon Graham
Chris Giarrusso
James Asmus and Takeshi Miyazawa
James Robinson and J. Bone
Jim McCann and Janet Lee
Andy Diggle and Ben Templesmith