Twig1 Webskin

Eisners—victory for creator-owned comics

July 26, 2014

Image Comics creators honored with awards, congratulates fellow creator-owned publishers for wins

Last night’s Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards 2014 marked a clear victory for creator-owned comics in the industry with creator-owned work—published by Image Comics, as well as Fantagraphics, Drawn & Quarterly, Vertigo, First Second, Cartoon Books, and Image Comics creators Scott Snyder, Jeff Smith, Matt Fraction, Paul Pope, and Sean Murphy for their projects with various other publishers—sweeping the awards.

Image Comics was honored with five Eisner Awards: Best Colorist went to Jordie Bellaire (PRETTY DEADLY, NOWHERE MEN), Best Artist to Fiona Staples (SAGA), Best Writer to Brian K. Vaughan (SAGA), best new series was awarded to SEX CRIMINALS by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky, and SAGA by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples took Best Continuing Series.

Fellow comics publisher Fantagraphics took the Best Short Story (Untitled by Gilbert Hernandez), Best U.S. Edition of International Material (Goddamn This War! by Jacques Tardi and Jean-Pierre Verney), Best Writer/Artist (Jaime Hernandez, Love and Rockets New Stories #6). In addition, Dark Horse won Best Publication for Kids, ages 8-12 (The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks). Collectively the wins denote the ever-growing importance and rising appreciation of creator-owned work.

“This year’s Eisner Awards only underscored the power and importance of creator-owned comics, and we couldn’t be prouder to be amongst this year’s winners,” said Eric Stephenson, Publisher at Image Comics. “We work with some amazing men and women, and there’s nothing more gratifying than knowing others value their efforts just as much as we do.”

The Will Eisner Comic Industry awards are voted on by comics industry members and the awards ceremony is held in conjunction with San Diego Comic-Con International every year. This year Image Comics was honored with 17 nominations and four wins.